22nd Annual
San Diego Heart Failure Symposium for
Primary Care and Internal Medicine Physicians

New Strategies for Detection, Prevention and Treatment of Heart Failure
February 4 & 5, 2022
A Virtual Event from La Jolla, California


Barry H. Greenberg, MD, FACC
Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Director, Advanced Heart Failure Treatment Program
UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA


Nancy M. Albert, PhD
Associate Chief Nursing Officer - Research & Innovation - Zelony Nursing Institute
Clinical Nurse Specialist - George M. and Linda H. Kaufman Center for Heart Failure Treatment and Recover – Heart, Vascular & Thoracic Institute
Consultative Staff - Lerner Institute
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH

Javed Butler, MD, MPH, MBA
Patrick H. Lehan Chair in Cardiovascular Research
Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine
Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Uri Elkayam, MD, FACC
Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology
University of Southern California
Keck School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA

Gregg Fonarow, MD, FACC
Eliot Corday Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Science
Director, Ahmanson-UCLA Cardiomyopathy Center
Co-Director, UCLA Preventative Cardiology Program
Co- Chief, UCLA Division of Cardiology (Interim)
David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA
Los Angeles, CA

John Teerlink, MD, FACC, FAHA, FESC, FHFA, FHFSA, FRCP (London)
Director, Heart Failure; Section of Cardiology
San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Professor of Medicine
University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, FACC
Vice Dean, Diversity & Inclusion
Magerstadt Professor of Medicine
Professor of Medical Social Sciences
Chief, Division of Cardiology
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
Chicago, IL


Eric Adler, MD, FACC
Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, Heart Transplant and MCS Program
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Ulrika Birgersdotter-Green, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiology
Director, Cardiology Fellowship Program

Daniel Blanchard, MD, FACC
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Director, Cardiology Fellowship Program

Lori Daniels, MD, MAS, FACC, FAHA
Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit
Division of Cardiology

Eduardo Grunvald, MD, FACP
Medical Director, Center for Advanced Weight Management
Director, Obesity Medicine
UCSD Bariatric and Metabolic Institute
Division of General Internal Medicine
Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery

Kurt Hoffmayer, MD, PharmD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

Kimberly N. Hong, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
AHF, Heart Transplant and MCS

Jonathan C. Hsu, MD, MAS
Associate Professor
Section of Cardiac Electrophysiology
Division of Cardiology

Trina Huynh, PharmD, BCPS
Transitions of Care Coordinator
Department of Pharmacy

Christian W. Mende, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Department of Nephrology

Demos Papamatheakis, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Ryan Reeves, MD, FACC
Associate Professor of Medicine
Interventional Cardiology

Jia Shen, MD, MPH
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
Department of Cardiovascular Diseases

Jorge Silva Enciso, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology

Pam R. Taub, MD, FACC, FASPC
Founder and Director of Step Family Foundation Cardiovascular Rehabilitation and Wellness Center
Professor of Medicine

Howie Tran, MD, FACC
Department of Internal Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Marcus Anthony Urey, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Nicholas Wettersten, MD, FACC
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Department of Cardiology

Michael J. Wilkinson, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine